In 2019, Germany will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Bauhaus, together with partners worldwide. Founded in Weimar in 1919, relocated to Dessau in 1925 and then closed in Berlin in 1933, the school only operated for a total of 14 years. Nevertheless, Bauhaus continues to be influential to this day.

Under the theme “Re-considering the world”, three leading Bauhaus institutions in Berlin, Dessau and Weimar have come together with eleven German states and the “Bauhaus Verbund 2019” to celebrate the anniversary together. Dessau is the city with the strongest connection to Bauhaus: the school was active here for the longest period of time and experienced its heyday between 1925 and 1932. All three Bauhaus directors, Walter Gropius, Hannes Meyer, and Mies van der Rohe, worked and lived here. This period was also the height of Bauhaus architecture, which is why the greatest number of Bauhaus structures can be found in Dessau-Roßlau. Today, the Bauhaus Building, the Masters’ Houses and the Pergola Houses are all UNESCO World Heritage sites.

More information about the Bauhaus network 2019:

Bauhaus 100Bauhaus 100