Places

Dessau – THE CITY OF BAUHAUS

If today's talk is of classic modernism, nobody can get past Dessau. From 1926 to 1932, the city housed one of the most famous architecture and art schools in the world: the Bauhaus. His reputation did not come by chance: Walter Gropius and Mies van der Rohe succeeded in bringing artists like Paul Klee, Wassily Kandinsky, Lyonel Feininger, Oskar Schlemmer, László Moholy-Nagy, Marcel Breuer and Johannes Itten to Dessau.

BUILDINGS OF BAUHAUS

Walter Gropius, 1919 founder of the Bauhaus and his director until 1928, had the Bauhaus building built in the years 1925/26 as "College of Design". Together with the other Bauhaus buildings in Dessau-Roßlau, the Bauhaus building is today one of the icons of 20th century architecture.

www.bauhaus-dessau.de

MASTER HOUSES

At the same time as the Bauhaus building, the city of Dessau commissioned Walter Gropius with the construction of three semi-detached houses for the Bauhaus masters and a single house for the director. Together with the Bauhaus building, the master houses were added to the list of world heritage by UNESCO in 1996.

www.bauhaus-dessau.de 

KORNHAUS

The restaurant Kornhaus was built in 1929/30 directly on the Elbe dike. It was designed by the architect Carl Fieger.

www.kornhaus-dessau.de

SETTLEMENT DESSAU-TÖRTEN

The experimental estate Törten with consumer building, built by Walter Gropius in 1928, the arcaded walkways designed by Hannes Meyer and the steel house completed in 1927, are outstanding examples of the new building of the 1920s.

www.bauhaus-dessau.de

HISTORICAL EMPLOYMENT OFFICE

The design of Walter Gropius for the employment office in 1928 was characterized by aspirations for rationalization, as it was already common in the economy at that time. The exceptional floor plan makes the yellow brick-clad steel structure a trend-setting example of functionalist architecture.

www.bauhaus-dessau.de

The "Sport and Course House" ("SPUK"), formerly the building of the Dessau local health insurance, is a modern building designed by the Dessau architect Erich Kurt Elster and was inaugurated on 21 December 1930. The construction of the steel structure was carried out by the Junkers steel construction.

www.hugo-junkers.info

SPORT AND COURSE HOUSE „KURT ELSTER“ (SPUK)

TECHNOLOGY MUSEUM HUGO JUNKERS

The technology museum "Hugo Junkers" Dessau on the grounds of the former Junkers aircraft and engine works gives an insight into Junkers' life's work and technical excellence of the early 20th century.

www.technikmuseum-dessau.de

Bauhaus 100Bauhaus 100

Orte

Dessau – Die Bauhausstadt

Wenn heute von klassischer Moderne die Rede ist, kommt niemand an Dessau vorbei. Von 1926 bis 1932 beherbergte die Stadt eine der berühmtesten Architektur- und Kunstschulen der Welt: Das Bauhaus. Sein Ruf kam nicht von ungefähr: Walter Gropius und Mies van der Rohe gelang es, Künstler wie Paul Klee, Wassily Kandinsky, Lyonel Feininger, Oskar Schlemmer, László Moholy-Nagy, Marcel Breuer und Johannes Itten nach Dessau zu holen.

Bauhausgebäude

Walter Gropius, 1919 Gründer des Bauhauses und bis 1928 sein Direktor, ließ das Bauhausgebäude in den Jahren 1925/26 als „Hochschule für Gestaltung“ errichten. Zusammen mit den anderen Bauhausbauten in Dessau-Roßlau zählt das Bauhausgebäude heute zu den Ikonen der Architektur des 20. Jahrhunderts. www.bauhaus-dessau.de

Meisterhäuser

Zeitgleich mit dem Bauhausgebäude beauftragte die Stadt Dessau Walter Gropius mit dem Bau von drei Doppelhäusern für die Bauhausmeister und einem Einzelhaus für den Direktor. Zusammen mit dem Bauhausgebäude wurden die Meisterhäuser 1996 von der UNESCO in die Liste des Welterbes aufgenommen. www.bauhaus-dessau.de

Kornhaus

Die Ausflugsgaststätte Kornhaus wurde in den Jahren 1929/30 direkt auf dem Elbdeich errichtet. Entworfen wurde es von dem Architekten Carl Fieger. www.kornhaus-dessau.de

Siedlung Dessau-Törten

Die von Walter Gropius 1928 gebaute Versuchssiedlung Törten mit Konsumgebäude, die von Hannes Meyer geplanten Laubenganghäuser und das 1927 fertiggestellte Stahlhaus stellen herausragende Beispiele des Neuen Bauens der 1920er Jahre dar. www.bauhaus-dessau.de

Historisches Arbeitsamt

Der Entwurf von Walter Gropius 1928 für das Arbeitsamt zeichnete sich durch Bestrebungen nach Rationalisierung aus, so wie sie auch damals schon in der Wirtschaft üblich war. Der außergewöhnliche Grundriss macht den mit gelben Ziegeln verkleideten Stahlbau zu einem richtungweisenden Beispiel für die funktionalistische Architektur. www.bauhaus-dessau.de

Das „Sport- und Kurs-Haus“, kurz „SPUK“-Haus, früher das Gebäude der Dessauer Ortskrankenkasse, ist ein Bau der Moderne nach einem Entwurf des Dessauer Architekten Erich Kurt Elster und wurde am 21. Dezember 1930 eingeweiht. Die Bauausführung der Stahlkonstruktion erfolgte durch den Junkers-Stahlbau. www.hugo-junkers.info

SPORT- UND KURSHAUS „KURT ELSTER“ (SPUK)

TECHNIKMUSEUM HUGO JUNKERS

Das Technikmuseum „Hugo Junkers“ Dessau auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Junkers-Flugzeug- und Motorenwerke gibt einen Einblick in Junkers’ Lebenswerk und technische Spitzenleistungen des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts. www.technikmuseum-dessau.de

Bauhaus 100Bauhaus 100