Places

Magdeburg – CITY OF NEW CONSTRUCTION WILL

During the Weimar Republic, the current state capital Magdeburg reoriented itself to the call of modernism earlier and more consistently than other cities, attracting attention throughout Germany. Under the direction of Mayor Hermann Beims, Magdeburg underwent a real reformation from 1919 to 1931 through innovations in many areas, allowing modernism to develop across many aspects and themes. The spirit of modernism in Magdeburg in the 1920s was also clearly expressed in the stylistic idiom of its architecture. Many buildings from this period have survived and constitute a significant architectural heritage of modernism – above all, the city hall area on the Rotehorn island in the Elbe and the Hermann Beims housing complex are among the most significant examples of the many worker’s housing estates in Magdeburg.

Die Hermann-Beims-Siedlung in Magdeburg ist heute eine denkmalgeschützte Wohnanlage

HERMANN-BEIMS-SETTLEMENT

Built between 1926 and 1929, the settlement is the most famous settlement of social housing in the 1920s in Magdeburg. The landmarked residential complex is an urban planning and architectural example of its time of origin.

www.architekturtourismus.com

GARDEN CITY COLONY REFORM

In 1911 the construction began and from 1913 Bruno Taut assumed the planning. The terraced houses were built in a cost-effective design and always new color variants, each with its own garden - light, air and sun were the guiding ideas.

www.architekturtourismus.com

OTTO-RICHTER-STREET

The cooperative housing estate was built between 1904 and 1916. At the beginning of the 1920s, parts of the façade under the direction of Bruno Taut were provided with brightly colored to "screaming colorful" paintings. Carl Krayl was entrusted with the implementation. Particularly spectacular: the "lightning façade" of the house No. 2.

www.architekturtourismus.com

TOWNHALL MAGDEBURG

The town hall was built in 1927 according to the plans of the architects Johannes Göderitz and Wilhelm Deffke on the occasion of the German Theater Exhibition. At the time, it was the most progressive city hall in Germany. The building is complemented by the 60 meter high Albinmüller tower and the horse gate.

www.mvgm.de

SHIP LIFT MECHANISM ROTHENSEE

The ship lift mechanism Rothensee is the second oldest of only four still operating in Hebewerken in Germany. The outstanding engineering structure and important testimony of the waterway construction was built in 1934-38 as a conclusion of the continued since 1926 by Hannover Mittellandkanals.

www.visitmagdeburg.de

Bauhaus 100Bauhaus 100

Orte

Magdeburg – Stadt des Neuen Bauwillens

In der Zeit der Weimarer Republik stellte sich die heutige Landeshauptstadt Magdeburg früher und konsequenter als andere Städte unter den Vorzeichen der Moderne neu auf und erregte deutschlandweite Aufmerksamkeit. Unter der Leitung von Oberbürgermeister Hermann Beims wurde Magdeburg 1919 bis 1931 durch Neuerungen auf vielen Gebieten zu einer wahren Reformstadt in der sich die Moderne in vielen Facetten und Themen entfalten konnte. Der Geist der Magdeburger Moderne der 1920er Jahre kam auch in der architektonischen Formensprache deutlich zum Ausdruck. Viele Bauten dieser Zeit sind erhalten und bilden ein bedeutendes bauliches Erbe der Moderne – allen voran das Stadthallen-Areal auf der Rothehorninsel in der Elbe und die Hermann-Beims-Siedlung als die bedeutendste der zahlreichen Magdeburger Arbeitersiedlungen.

Die Hermann-Beims-Siedlung in Magdeburg ist heute eine denkmalgeschützte Wohnanlage

HERMANN-BEIMS-SIEDLUNG

Die zwischen 1926 und 1929 erbaute Siedlung ist die bekannteste Siedlung des sozialen Wohnungsbaus der 1920er Jahre in Magdeburg. Die heute denkmalgeschützte Wohnanlage ist ein städtebaulich und architektonisch hervorragendes Beispiel ihrer Entstehungszeit. www.architekturtourismus.de

GARTENSTADT-KOLONIE REFORM

1911 wurde mit dem Bau begonnen, ab 1913 übernahm Bruno Taut die Planung. Die Reihenhäuser entstanden in kostengünstiger Bauweise und immer neuen Farbvarianten, jedes mit eigenem Garten – Licht, Luft und Sonne waren die leitenden Gedanken. www.architekturtourismus.de

OTTO-RICHTER-STRASSE

Die genossenschaftliche Wohnsiedlung wurde zwischen 1904 und 1916 erbaut. Anfang der 1920er Jahre wurden Teile der Fassade unter Leitung von Bruno Taut mit kräftigen farbigen bis „kreischend bunten“ Anstrichen versehen. Carl Krayl war mit der Umsetzung betraut. Besonders spektakulär: die „Blitzfassade“ des Hauses Nr. 2. www.architekturtourismus.de

STADTHALLE MAGDEBURG

Die Stadthalle wurde 1927 nach den Plänen der Architekten Johannes Göderitz und Wilhelm Deffke anlässlich der Deutschen Theaterausstellung errichtet. Sie war seinerzeit die fortschrittlichste Stadthalle Deutschlands. Das Bauwerk wird ergänzt durch den 60 Meter hohen Albinmüller-Turm und das Pferdetor. www.mvgm.de

SCHIFFSHEBEWERK ROTHENSEE

Das Schiffshebewerk Rothensee ist das zweitälteste von nur vier noch in Betrieb befindlichen Hebewerken in Deutschland. Das herausragende Ingenieurbauwerk und bedeutende Zeugnis des Wasserstraßenbaus wurde 1934–38 als Abschluss des seit 1926 von Hannover weitergeführten Mittellandkanals errichtet. www.visitmagdeburg.de

Bauhaus 100Bauhaus 100